Viewing, editing, and deleting student accounts (New rostering experience)

 Note

The steps in this article apply only if you have selected to self-roster accounts individually.

This article applies to the following products:

  • Imagine Language & Literacy, Imagine Español, Imagine Reading, and Imagine Lectura
  • Imagine Galileo K–12
  • Imagine MyPath, Imagine Science Corner, Imagine Purpose

Teachers and Administrators can view and edit student accounts in the products listed above. Included in editing is the ability to change a student's password as well as change the products assigned to the student and the product settings (such as session time and/or language support).

Only Administrators can delete student accounts, but Teachers can instead remove the student from a class/group.

Editing and deleting are done from the Students page, which contains a list of all students in your purview. School Administrators can see a list of all student records in their assigned school(s), while District Administrators can see a list of all student records in the district.

To view/locate students:

  1. Log in to the Product Portal and click Users & Classes/Groups.
    Appy.png
  2. If necessary, click Students at the top of the screen. (This page is the default for Teachers, but the Educators page is the default for Administrators.)
    students tab.png
    The Students page opens with a list of all the records you have access to. By default, the table is sorted alphabetically by last name. Click on the column headers Name, Username, Ext Assigned ID, or Grade to sort ascending or descending by that column. 
    column headers students.png
  3. Use the search bar at the top of the page to locate a specific student. You can search by full or partial name, username, or external assigned ID. Type your search term and then click Enter or the magnifying glass to see the results. (You can clear the results later by clicking the X.)
    search students.png
  4. To view a list of students that meet your specifications, click the arrows to open the filters
    student filters.png

    The table below explains each filter.
    Field Description
    Classes/Groups Select 1 or more classes/groups to which the students are assigned. Alternately, you can choose None to see which students still need to be assigned to their groups. Students must be assigned to at least 1 group in order for their data to display in reports.
    Product Access Select 1 or more products the students are assigned. Alternately, you can choose None to see which students do not yet have at least 1 product.
    Grade Level Select the students' rostered grade(s).
    Sync Status

    Choose to view records that are:

    • Synced (from automated imports via Clever, ClassLink, or SFTP)
    • Unsynced (manually created in an Imagine Learning tool or product)

    A synced record has a lock symbol to the left of the student's name. 

  5. Click the box(es) to apply the filter(s). The number of boxes you've checked in each filter displays in a blue circle to the right of the filter name so you know how many items you've selected.
    students filter.png
  6. The filters are cumulative. This means that students must match all the filters you select in order to display in the results. If no results are found, you will receive a notification. Click Clear All Filters to reset the filters and start over. 
    clear student filters.png

To edit a student:

  1. Follow the instructions in the Viewing Students section to find the applicable student.
  2. Click the three dots, then choose Edit Details, Edit Product Access, or Edit Product Settings.
    edit student details.png
  3. Make the desired edits. Refer to the Adding Students article if you need additional information on each field.

     Caution

    If the record was created through a sync (automated import), most fields will not be editable. You must make the changes on the files that get sent to Imagine Learning, and then the record will update accordingly inside the Product Portal.

    • Edit Details allows you to change many fields, including username, password, and the classes/groups to which the student is assigned. For example, by clicking the X by the group name, you can remove students from your class/group if you no longer wish to view their data.  
      edit student details 2.png
    • Edit Product Access allows you to change the product(s) associated with the student. Only the products that your organization has purchased will be available for you to select.  
      edit student product access.png
    • Edit Product Settings allows you to change the default settings associated with each product, such as session time and language settings. You only need to use the drop-down menus to make a new selection if you want to override the defaults. 
      updated mypath settings.png
  4. Click Save at the bottom of the window.

    save button classes page.png

  5. The student account is updated and you'll receive a confirmation at the bottom of your screen.

To delete a student (Administrators only):

  1. Follow the instructions in the Viewing Students section to find the applicable student.
  2. Click the three dots, then choose Delete.
    delete student.png
  3. In the confirmation window, click Yes, Delete.
    yes delete student.png
  4. You'll receive a confirmation at the bottom of your screen, and the student's name will no longer display in the list of students.