2024 End-of-year data reset procedures for the Imagine Math suite

 Note

This article applies to the following products:

  • Imagine Math
  • Imagine Math Facts

What is a reset?

A reset is the process of preparing returning customers for a new school year. It allows for growth, progress, and usage reports to display correctly in the new year. 

Resets must occur at the district/site code level, which triggers a concurrent data reset for all schools within the organization/site code. 

All automated import syncs will be paused on the reset date and will be turned back on when your reset is complete. Ensure your SIS is updated for the upcoming school year before the reset occurs. 

When a reset occurs:

  • All student data is deleted 
  • Classes/groups are deleted
  • Educator accounts remain intact

Reset Window

For the 2024 reset, customers will be automatically assigned one of 3 default dates:

  • Friday, July 19
  • Friday, August 2
  • Friday, August 16

The date you are assigned has been selected to match as closely as possible to the date your reset occurred in 2023. If the 2024 date doesn't suit this year's needs, District Administrators will have the option to change their assigned date to any non-holiday weekday between June 1 and October 1. The date selected must be at least one day in the future. 

The reset date applies to both Imagine Math and Imagine Math Facts.

 Recommendations

  • Leave the reset date as assigned if your school year and summer school session both end before this dateIf your school year and/or summer school session end after your assigned date, select a date soon after they both conclude.
  • Districts that want a reset date before 6/1 or after 10/1 should contact their Customer Success Manager (CSM). This applies primarily to international customers. 
  • If your organization uses other supplemental Imagine Learning product(s) in addition to the Imagine Math suite, set the same reset date across all products. This facilitates a uniform experience for both teachers and students.

What Data is Archived/Deleted/Retained?

Returning students have completely new accounts so they start out fresh at the start of each year. As shown in the table below, only educator accounts and organizations (schools and districts) are saved year over year. 

Data Action Taken for Data Reset
Student Accounts Deleted
Student Tokens (Imagine Math PreK-2) Deleted/set to 0; returning students will begin collecting tokens again in the new school year.
Student THINK Points (Imagine Math 3+ students) Deleted/set to 0; returning students will begin accumulating THINK Points again in the new school year.
Student Avatars (Imagine Math 3+ students) Deleted; returning students will create new avatars in the new school year.
Student Academic Data  Assessment, Progress, Pathway, and Usage data are all deleted.
Classrooms Deleted
Educator Accounts Retained

 Recommendation

Remove educators who are no longer with the organization or no longer using the program.

Organizations (schools and districts) Retained

 Recommendations

  • Because no math data is stored year after year, download a copy of this year's data for your records before your reset date occurs. The Student Data Export report will capture year-to-date usage and results data for all students in a single spreadsheet. 
  • Additionally, teachers may want to print any individual Student Progress reports (IM PreK-2 | IM 3+) that may be needed during the upcoming school year. For Imagine Math 3+ students enrolled in multiple pathways, each pathway should be printed separately.