Activating, deactivating, and removing student accounts in Imagine Math PreK-2

Activating a student account means setting their account to an active state, which allows them to log into and use Imagine Math. Deactivating a student account sets their account to inactive, which prevents them from logging into and using Imagine Math PreK-2.

As a District Administrator or School Administrator, you can activate or deactivate student accounts in one or more classes in your district or school, respectively. As an Educator who is assigned to multiple classes, you can activate or deactivate student accounts in one or more of your classes. As an Educator assigned to a single class, you can activate or deactivate student accounts in only that class.

Only student accounts assigned to a single class can be deactivated. For student accounts assigned to multiple classes, you must first remove their account from all other classes before deactivating the account. If you need to completely remove a student's account, for example, when the student has left the school and you no longer need to save their data, you first deactivate the student's account and can then delete it. Deleting a student account permanently removes the account, along with all associated student performance and usage data.

Before you begin

  • Make sure you know the name of the student whose account you want to activate, deactivate or remove.
  • If you need to deactivate a student account, first check to see if the student is assigned to more than one class. If they are already assigned to another class, you need to remove them from other classes before you can deactivate their account. 

Activating or deactivating student accounts in a single class

If you are a District Administrator, School Administrator, or an Educator assigned to a single class, you can activate or deactivate student accounts from that class, assuming that each student account you want to activate or deactivate, is only assigned to that single class. If a student account is assigned to multiple classes, you must remove the student from all other classes, before you can deactivate their account. 

To activate or deactivate a student account in a single class

  1. Log in to the Math portal.
  2. If you are a District Administrator, click Management > Schools in the navigation pane, find your school, then click Classes under the Actions column.

    If you are a School Administrator or Educator, click Management > Classrooms in the navigation pane.

    mceclip4.png

  3. Locate the class, then click Current Students.

    mceclip1.png

  4. To activate one or more student accounts:
    1.  Click Inactive Students in the list to display the list of inactive students.

      mceclip9.png

    2. Click the checkbox next to each student account you want to activate, then click Activate.

      mceclip11.png

  5. To deactivate one or more student accounts:
    1. Click Active Students in the list to display the list of inactive students.

      mceclip1.png

    2. Click the checkbox next to each student account you want to deactivate, then click Deactivate.

      mceclip12.png

  6. If you deactivated students, check the Inactive Students list to verify that they have been deactivated. If you activated students, check the Active Students list to verify that they have been activated. 

Activating or deactivating student accounts in one or more classes

If you are a District Administrator, School Administrator, or an Educator assigned to multiple classes, you can activate or deactivate student accounts from one or more classes, assuming that each account you want to activate or deactivate is only assigned to a single class. If a student account is assigned to multiple classes, you must remove the student from any other classes before you can deactivate their account. 

To activate or deactivate a student account from one or more classes

  1. Log in to the Math portal.
  2. Click Management > Students in the navigation pane. You can also click View Students in the Quick Links section on your dashboard.

    mceclip2.png

  3. To activate a student account from one or more classes:
    1. Click Inactive Students in the list to display the list of inactive students.

      mceclip9.png

    2. Click the checkbox next to each student account you want to activate, then click Activate.
  4. To deactivate a student account from one or more classes:
    1. Click Active Students in the list to display the list of active students.

      mceclip1.png

    2. Click the checkbox next to each student account you want to deactivate, then click Deactivate.
  5. If you deactivated a student, check the Inactive Students list to verify that your student has been deactivated. If you activated a student, check the Active Students list to verify that your student has been activated. 

Removing student accounts from a class

You can only deactivate student accounts that are assigned to a single class. For student accounts who are assigned to multiple classes, you must first remove them from all other classes before you can deactivate their account.

 Note

When you remove a student from a class, you also remove the student's pathway. When you remove a student's pathway, it cannot be restored.

To remove a student account from a class

  1. Log in to the Math portal.
  2. If you are a District Administrator, click Management > Schools in the navigation pane, find your school, then click Classes under the Actions column.

    If you are a School Administrator or Educator, click Management > Classrooms in the navigation pane.

  3. Locate the class and click Current Students.

    mceclip1.png

  4. If necessary, click Active Students in the drop-down list to display the list of active students.

    mceclip13.png

  5. Find the student account that you want to remove from the class in the Active Students list.
  6. In the Classroom(s) column, click (remove student)

    mceclip2.png

  7. You'll see a warning message that states that the student's pathway for this class will also be removed, and that the pathway cannot be restored once the student account has been removed form the class. Click OK.