Deleting students/removing students from groups in the Literacy and MyPath suite

 Note

This article applies to the following products:

  • Imagine Language & Literacy
  • Imagine Español
  • Imagine Reading
  • Imagine Lectura
  • Imagine Galileo K-12
  • Imagine MyPath, Imagine Science Corner, Imagine Purpose

If students are no longer going to be using one or more of the Imagine Learning products listed above, we recommend that you take them out of their active group(s) or delete them so that your rosters are accurate and the students' discontinued use of the program does not negatively affect group averages for growth scores or usage metrics.
The differences between removing a student from a group and deleting a student's account are outlined in the table below.

Action Definition Recommended Use Cases Can be performed by
Removing from group The student no longer appears in the group roster and their data no longer appears in reports. However, the student's data is preserved behind the scenes; if the student is later added back to this group (or any other group), their data reappears in reports.
  • Student should be placed in a different group instead of this one
  • Student is leaving the class or school or but you expect they will return later 
Administrators and Teachers
Deleting student accounts

The student no longer appears in the group, school, or district roster and their data no longer appears in reports. The data and account are both completely deleted and can only be restored if the student account is recreated with exactly the same Student ID in order to keep any historical data (such as the student's original Placement Test score).

 Caution

Deleting a student deletes them from ALL their associated product(s).

  • Student is leaving the organization and you do not expect them to return
  • Student is still in your organization but is finished using the program(s) and will no longer need to log in
Administrators only

Once you've decided your course of action, follow the steps in the applicable tab below.

Removing students from group Deleting student accounts

To remove a student from a group (Teachers and Administrators):

  1. Log in to the Literacy and MyPath suite
  2. Click Manage Groups
  3. If needed, perform a search or navigate through the pages to find the group to which the student is assigned.
  4. Click the Manage Students icon () next to the group name.
  5. Click the checkbox next to each student that you want to remove from the group, then click Remove from Group.
  6. Confirm your decision by clicking Remove student(s) from group.
  7. Click the X to close the confirmation message.