Moving Students Between Classes, Teachers and Schools

 Note

Should you find a Managed by SIS message next to accounts or classes, it means your district uses a Student Information System integration tool to manage student, teacher, classroom, and administrator accounts within your district. Contact your district's IT Staff prior to attempting to move students.

As a District Administrator, you have the ability to move students between schools, teachers and classes, while as a School Administrator, you can move students between only the teachers and classes for your school, and as a Teacher, you can move students only between your assigned classes. When moving a student to a different class, any pathways assigned to them in their previous class are moved to the new class. Only students who are assigned to a single class can be moved to another class. If a student is assigned to multiple classes, you'll need to remove their existing student account from only the class you are moving them out of, and then add that existing account to the new class. Note that when removing a student from a class, it also removes their assigned pathway(s). If you wish to keep the student's pathways, please contact Customer Care (support@imaginelearning.com) to move the pathway(s) to the new class. 

Before you begin:

  • Check with your district's IT Staff first, if you see Managed by SIS next to accounts or classes, to find out what actions you can take, if any, to accomplish the move.
  • Make sure that the student you want to move is assigned to only one class; the class you want to move them from. If the student is assigned to multiple classes, you'll have to remove their existing student account from only the class you are moving them out of, and then add that existing account to the new class.

Move students between teachers and classes (School Administrators and Teachers)

To move a student to a different teacher and class

 Note

These steps will remove the student from the their current class and add them to the new class. If your intention is to simply add the student to a new class in addition to their current class, see Adding existing students Step-by-Step.

  1. From the navigation pane, click ManagementClassrooms, to open the Classes page.
  2. Locate the class from which you need to move the student(s).
  3. Click Current Students in that class block.

    mceclip1.png

    The Class Roster page opens.

    mceclip0.png

  4. Check the appropriate student(s) name(s) and click Change Class.
    A Move to Different Class page opens.

    mceclip5.png

  5. Choose the new Teacher and Class from the drop-down menu.
    As a Teacher, you'll only need to choose the Class.
  6. Click Move.
    When the move finishes, a Success page opens, showing the new Class Roster with the moved students.

    mceclip2.png

Move students between schools, teachers and classes (District Administrators)

To move a student between schools, teachers or classes

  1. In the navigation pane, click Schools, to open the Schools page.

    mceclip6.png

  2. Locate appropriate school and click Classes in the Actions column, to open the Classes page.
  3. Locate the appropriate class and click Current Students.

    mceclip1.png

    The Class Roster page opens.

    mceclip2.png

  4. Check each student you need to move.
  5. Click Change Class.

    The Move to Different Class page opens.

    mceclip3.png

  6. Choose the new School, Teacher and Class.
  7. Click Move.

    When the move finishes, a Success page opens, showing the new Class Roster with the moved students.

    mceclip4.png

Move student error

Error -- The following students failed to transfer: [student name]. The problems are: Student cannot be transferred, multiple classroom transfer not supported.

This error indicates that the student can't be moved because their account is assigned to multiple classes. In order to move the student, you need to first remove them from all but one of the classes.

 Note

If the student is working on a pathway in each class, you'll need to contact Customer Support (support@imaginelearning.com), to ensure that the student doesn't lose any of their work.

Resolution options include

  1. If the student is assigned a pathway in the class their account is being moved from, please contact Customer Care at support@imaginelearning.com.
  2. If the student is NOT assigned a pathway in the class their account is being moved from; first - remove the student from the class (and any additional classes), second - add the student to the new class.

     Note

    If the student is in one or more deactivated classes, you'll first need to reactivate the deactivated class(es) so the Remove Student link appears to the far right of the student's name.

  3. If a student is assigned to multiple classes, but assigned only one pathway from a single class, to ensure that the pathway from that one class is moved to the new class: Remove the student from all the current classes except the one in which they are assigned a pathway, then move the student from that class to the new class, which in turn will move the pathways assignment to the new class as well. 
  4. If the student is being removed from a deactivated class, please contact Customer Care at support@imaginelearning.com for assistance.  

For additional information, see Activating, Deactivating and Removing a Student and Adding existing students Step-by-Step.