Activating or Deactivating a Class

As a district administrator, school administrator or educator, you can activate or deactivate a class, whenever necessary. For example, if the class student quota has not been met for a particular semester, you can deactivate the class. Once the required number of students is met, you can reactivate it.  

Activating a class basically makes it visible to your students, while deactivating removes that visibility. If however, a student is assigned to only one class, and that class is deactivated, the student's account is also deactivated, as there is no class for the student to attend. 

There are two approaches for activating and deactivating a class, based on whether the class exists or if you are in the process of creating it. The following sections provide the proper approach and steps for both. 

 Note

Deactivating a class automatically deactivates assigned students for whom this is their only class. Students assigned to other classes are not deactivated, but instead removed from this class. Removed students can log in and access their other assigned classes, while deactivated students can not. 

Activating an Existing Inactive Class

To activate an existing inactive class

  1. Find the class that you want to activate.
    • If you're a School Administrator or Educator, click Management > Classrooms in the navigation pane.
    • If you're a District Administrator, click Management > Schools in the navigation pane, find your school, then click Classes under the Actions column.

    The Classes page opens.

    mceclip1.png

  2. Click Inactive Classes.
  3. Locate the class and click Activate.

    The class is removed from Inactive Classes and added to Active Classes.

  4. Click Active Classes, to check that the class is now displayed on the Active Classes page.

Deactivating an Existing Active Class

 Note

When you deactivate a class, accounts for students assigned to only that class, are automatically deactivated. Students assigned to other classes however, are simply removed from the deactivated class, and their accounts remain activated.

To deactivate an existing active class

  1. Find the class that you want to deactivate.
    • If you're a School Administrator or Educator, click Management > Classrooms in the navigation pane.
    • If you're a District Administrator, click Management > Schools in the navigation pane, find your school, then click Classes under the Actions column.

    The Classes page opens.

    mceclip2.png

  2. Click Active Classes, if not already selected.
  3. Locate the class and click Deactivate.

    The class is removed from Active Classes and added to Inactive Classes.

  4. Click Inactive Classes, to check that the class is now displayed on the Active Classes page.

Activating or Deactivating a Class While Creating It

To activate or deactivate a class while you are in the process of creating it, you do so from the Create a Class page, by checking or un-checking Active

To activate or deactivate a class

  1. Check Active to set the class to active status (as shown in the following image); un-check Active to set the class to an inactive status.

    mceclip3.png

For additional information, see Activating or Deactivating a Student.